Butterfly!

buttefly2

One from the Butterfly House at Bristol Zoo.

It is not perfectly focussed, but as I am still honing my macro skills I am not to upset. The little fellow was good enough to sit still for quite some time, but even with image stabilization keeping a steady enough hand is quite a challenge.

Still, despite the flaws I feel it is worth sharing.

Thanks for looking.

 

 

Edit: I had a look through my snaps of this insect and discovered a slightly better shot. Rather than create a new post or remove the above image and change the text, I just thought it would be easier to just add the other (better?) snap.

 

butteflyreedit

4 thoughts on “Butterfly!

  1. I think remember that you ‘ve got the niksoftware collection, did you try to use the sharpener module to make the up wing more sharp? or the micro contrast in lightroom?
    Regards

    • I tend to do my sharpening with the picture in RAW (therefore in Elements). These were then tweaked a bit more in Viveza.

      The main issue (apart from shaky hands) is the depth of field is so fine. It can be a matter of a millimeter out and that will be enough…but there will be a nicely in focus butterfly knee. (I have some shots like this 🙂 ).

Leave a Reply

