A Crazy Castle and Nik Analog Efex Pro.

denbighruinblog

This is (are?) the ruins of Denbigh Castle in Denbigh, Wales.

And it has been tweaked via Nik Analog Efex Pro.

Which is a program I have mixed feelings about. On the one hand it is fun. It feels like a toy almost. A lighthearted way to fiddle about with a photo.  But that is also why I am unsure as to it’s worth.

To clarify, the above shot brings a smile to me. But it is a bit…ludicrous.  And ludicrous is perhaps the best word to describe the results from Analog Efex Pro.

The question then follows…is ludicrous always bad?

Thanks for looking.

6 thoughts on “A Crazy Castle and Nik Analog Efex Pro.

  1. This is a great shot. I use analog and I love it. At first I hated it, for the same reasons as you described. But the after fooling around with it for a long while and understanding the controls, I like it much better now.

  2. How do you mean ludicrous? I like the shot, I recently (September) started with Lightroom and am enjoying that. One day I probably will get Photoshop or another program but it’s still too early. I’d love to know what you like and don’t like about Nik. Thanks!

    • I mean that some of the effects within Nik Efex are so over the top that they are just daft.

      But fun though.

      In general I love everything about Nik and cannot recommend it highly enough. I think it can work within Lightroom, but I am not sure and don’t use that myself. I use Nik within Elements and it is great.

Leave a Reply

