Snow Drops!

Snow Drop, Galanthus nivalis

I was trying to decide which image to begin this series on the Lake District, lots of (I think) pretty pictures of mountains and lakes and boats and boathouses.

But these little snowdrops do not really fit in with any of that big stuff, and the image was really a bit of an experiment.  I was curious as to whether or not I could take a nice picture of a flower without a macro lens…so when I saw these little gems flowering I fired of a few snaps without really expecting anything.

If I had known then that my 17-55mm lens is quite capable of doing this sort of subject a decent service I would have taken more care and opted for a wider aperture.

So here we are, a few Snowdrops (Galanthus nivalis), taken at Lake Windermere.

Next up…a Mountain!

2 thoughts on “Snow Drops!

Leave a Reply

