Welsh and Woodier. Betws-y-Coed.

Last year I made this entry to this blog.

While recently having a look at the photographs I had taken on that autumn day I found a hugely underexposed shot, with next to no detail.

So I applied some photoshop, and then some more. And then even more.

And the above image is the result.

Now these days I always shoot into RAW, so it’s possible that I could have done more.  But this was originally (and still is of course) JPEG.

I kind of like the result, it has a slightly unreal quality to it (tons of photoshop will do that).

But I am probably not the best person to judge.

Any thoughts?

Some trivia, as far as I know Betws-y-Coed is pronounced “betsy co-ed”.

But that’s my English mangling of the Welsh language.

 

 

Edit: Snowdoniabnb informs me via the comments that my take on the pronunciation of Betws-y-Coed  is not entirely correct.

So to quote…”Betsy co-ed is a common way of pronouncing it but the correct way is Bet-oos er Koyd. A ‘w’ is pronounced as a ‘oo’ – except if there is a ‘y’ after it when the ‘w’ stays a ‘w’ such as in Conwy.”

5 thoughts on “Welsh and Woodier. Betws-y-Coed.

  1. It’s so hard to take a good photo of trees because everyone has done it and sometimes it just looks stupid. I think you did a wonderful job though.

  2. Betsy co-ed is a common way of pronouncing it but the correct way is Bet-oos er Koyd. A ‘w’ is pronounced as a ‘oo’ – except if there is a ‘y’ after it when the ‘w’ stays a ‘w’ such as in Conwy. It’s a good area for photography because there are so many types of landscape about.

    • Thanks for the correction, I generally try and do my best with pronouncing words properly, Welsh is not an easy language to navigate.

      I will edit your coment into the main post. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

